Hifidelio-User.de

Das (inoffizielle!) Forum für Hifidelio-User
Aktuelle Zeit: 23.10.2017 15:35

Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 Stunde [ Sommerzeit ]




Ein neues Thema erstellen Auf das Thema antworten  [ 39 Beiträge ]  Gehe zu Seite 1, 2, 3  Nächste
Autor Nachricht
 Betreff des Beitrags: Wakeup On Lan (WOL)
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 00:15 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
Hi,
.1 is there a possibility to wakeup the HF from standby via the network by sending a magic packet or something?

I did sent a magic packet (using wol.exe) but nothing happens. maybe the NIC has the option but is not activated by default.

.2 the otherway round: is it possible to bring the HF in standby modus remotely (without login in via telnet)

This can be nice when the HF is used for it's streaming functionality.

fred


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 00:30 
Offline
Moderator

Registriert: 27.01.2005 21:11
Beiträge: 2436
I think both can be done, although I have not tested something like this before:
Usually, WOL is primary a hardware-feature. But in our case, the CPU (with its internal MAC-Interface) is running even in standby.
Therefore we only have to ensure not to shut down the PHY of LAN-Interface when going into standby. I think this is the case when /DEBUG is set.
Then remote-wakeup could be done e.g. with a script running on the HF that's listening to a specific "Wakeup-Port" and calls "fidelio start" then.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 00:37 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
no problem when the HF is running in debug mode as being a normal operation situation?

fred


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 00:44 
Offline
Moderator
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 29.01.2005 00:43
Beiträge: 1750
Wohnort: CH, Bern
fred hat geschrieben:
no problem when the HF is running in debug mode as being a normal operation situation?


He'll fill your Harddisk with logfiles...

_________________
Was war ST-64 :?:


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 01:12 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
hmm


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 01:18 
Offline
Moderator

Registriert: 27.01.2005 21:11
Beiträge: 2436
/tmp/Fidelio.log is a bit verbose. You can delete it safely from time to time (or better set it to zero length with "> /tmp/Fidelio.log".

Give it a try - if you manage to get WOL working somehow, we'll find a solution for the /DEBUG-thing...


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 12:26 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
ok, thanx. Probably will take a few days because I don't have the time for this right now. When I have it working I'll come back here... :P
fred


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags: WOL
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 14:54 
Offline
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 02.01.2006 22:28
Beiträge: 38
Wohnort: Frankfurt / M.
fred hat geschrieben:
ok, thanx. Probably will take a few days because I don't have the time for this right now. When I have it working I'll come back here... :P
fred


Sorry for the question - but is there also something like a WOWL (read: "Wakeup on WLAN")? If that were possible, how would I connect to the HF when my WLAN software doesn't show the HF as an AP? :shock:

_________________
Mein Equipment:
HF Basic (80GB), Firmware 1.7 (Die funktioniert! Die bleibt!)
Pioneer VSX-D510-S
WinXP Pro, Intel Centrino, Fritz!Box Fon WLAN
Meine Kategorie: Normaluser, Anwender. Das erklärt die eine oder andere dumme Frage...


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 18:02 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
uuuuh Gigi

Didn't immediately realize:
how can I have a script\prog running when the system is in standby......?

what does the standby mode from the HF really mean?
Linux - and so (some) services - are still running......?


Rübe

If there is 'something' you probably can send it to the HF via the internet too to get it wake up when you you have the possibility to do some port forwarding in your router\firewall.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 11.01.2006 19:53 
Offline
Moderator

Registriert: 27.01.2005 21:11
Beiträge: 2436
As I wrote before: The CPU of the HF is running "normally" when it is in standby-mode. Linux is up, and if /DEBUG is set you can still connect via telnet and see what else is running then. The HF-specific applications are shutdown of course (i think the only one that runs in standby is an application called "waitpowerkey" - guess what this does :-) )


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 12.01.2006 01:28 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
sorry, didn't read your text carefully apparantly :oops:

I'll try to do something with UDP.

to be continued later..


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 13.01.2006 02:13 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
I have it working.

wrote a little c program which runs as a server or a client.

on the HF;
rFidelio -s 10113

runs and listens to the client on port 10113

on a client (winXP in my case)

option 1;
rFidelio 192.168.168.50 10113 q
the address is of my HF
sends to port 10113
command q => ends the rFidelio server mode process

----
option 2;
rFidelio 192.168.168.50 10113 W
wakes the HF by executing /etc/rc.d/init.d/fidelio start
This option does only work when /DEBUG is defined


----
option 3;
rFidelio 192.168.168.50 10113 S
brings the HF in sleep by executing /etc/rc.d/init.d/fidelio stop
This option does always work as long the 'rFidelio server' process is running

However after 'fidelio stop' has run
- the display keeps showing it's 'homepage'
- when in /DEBUG mode, all buttons keeps activated :?

I did a port (10113) forwarding in my firewall and that works also. this way I'm able to (de)activate the HF 'far from home'... :P

Are there more processes (than 'hifidelio stop') I can stop without any problems to get the HF in an 'almost standby' status and keep my rFidelio server process running?

fred


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 13.01.2006 10:33 
Offline
Moderator

Registriert: 27.01.2005 21:11
Beiträge: 2436
fred hat geschrieben:
I have it working.

That's great news!

For the remaining problems:

At least the Display-Light can be switched off:
http://www.hifidelio-user.de/viewtopic. ... ight=fbset

For the /DEBUG mode and the (not needed) log-files:
Look at the various scripts (at the place where 'fidelio' is, or /etc/init.d/..., don't know right now), in one of these scripts is the distinction between shutting down the network (without /DEBUG) or not shutting down the network (with /DEBUG). If you modify this script accordingly, you don't need to have to set /DEBUG.

Zitat:
Are there more processes (than 'hifidelio stop') I can stop without any problems to get the HF in an 'almost standby' status and keep my rFidelio server process running?

Maybe you find some hints in the various scripts.... or maybe Musikuss has a hint for us? Wake-On-Lan seems to be a useful feature...


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 13.01.2006 14:31 
Offline

Registriert: 20.09.2005 09:26
Beiträge: 142
Wohnort: NL
I don't have any problems to post source & bin when I really finished it. Probably I will need to make some additional adjustments to get a real practical implementation.

Maybe it's interesting to be able to send all kind of commands to the HF this way.
'Import' could be one ==>
- send 'Wake'
- Copy sound files to the \\hifidelio\import folder
- send 'Import'
Don't know if there are such intersting HF comandline intsructions available. Probably there are but hidden and only known by 'insiders'...

Have no linux experience (at least didn't have any before my HF arrived a few months ago... 8) .. ) so I installed CYGWIN and crosscompiler to get some of that experience and off course; a PPC executable.
After dealing with a few initial compatability compilor issues there is still a little cosmetic thing left in the ppc executable.
When I start the program on the HF there is a message output about having no version number or something. I can't check it for the exact text now and it's not so high prio thing at thgis time but does this sounds fimiliar to anybody?



fred


Zuletzt geändert von fred am 13.01.2006 14:39, insgesamt 1-mal geändert.

Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 13.01.2006 14:36 
Offline
Moderator

Registriert: 26.01.2005 00:28
Beiträge: 511
Wohnort: Rauenberg
fred hat geschrieben:
Maybe it's interesting to be able to send all kind of commands to the HF this way.
'Import' could be one ==>
- send 'Wake'
- Copy sound files to the \\hifidelio\import folder
- send 'Import'
Don't know if there are such intersting HF comandline intsructions available. Probably there are but hidden and only known by 'insiders'...

Currently the is no possibility to start the import process from the command line. Maybe a future release might support this.

_________________
You don't have to make a perfect system. One that fails once every thousand years is good enough.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:  Sortiere nach  
Ein neues Thema erstellen Auf das Thema antworten  [ 39 Beiträge ]  Gehe zu Seite 1, 2, 3  Nächste

Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 Stunde [ Sommerzeit ]


Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: 0 Mitglieder und 1 Gast


Du darfst keine neuen Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst keine Antworten zu Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht ändern.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.

Suche nach:
Gehe zu:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Deutsche Übersetzung durch phpBB.de